












Well for all of you who are dying to know about my trip to Manila here is what has happened so far.

As far as the flight the only way to travel is business class or first class. During the first flight I got up and walked around downstairs in coach and it was tight down there and lot and lots of people. I think that plane holds like 800 people. The seats made me think I was in a big electric wheel chair without any wheels. It had lots of adjustments and not to bad to sleep in just feel like you are slipping out because you can't have your legs as high up as your head. On the first flight to Japan, I mostly watched movies and read Kite Runner that Kaleena let me borrow. Thanks Kaleena it is pretty good so far and pretty handy to make your eyes tired when you need to sleep in the middle of the day. Yes if you haven't heard we are working from 10pm - 6am Manila time, which will mostly be California days. So I might see some of you online while in training. Right now it is almost 2 am and I am going pretty strong, not in training just trying to adjust right now. On the second flight, Japan to Manila I so crashed, put my pooh bear blanket, that my mommy made me, over my head and I was out. I faintly remember something about a dream and a bus and it leaving me behind. I kind of also remember talking in my sleep or maybe yelling something to the tone of "Get back here". Once I woke up it was nearly time to land and the lady next to me just smiled at me which made me think I was doing something in my sleep. I was so tired I didn't even wake when they tired to wake me when the food came. One of the guys from work said when he got up to use the restroom he saw me all covered with blankets and he just laughed.
So far pretty good times. I took some tylonel PM once I got to the hotel I felt sick from the lack of sleep and just sitting for hours during pretty much nothing. It kind of reminded me of being sick as a kid and you just lay on the coach and watch hours of TV. You like it but it still sucks that you can't go anywhere. But before I fell asleep I took a hot bath and that helped me feel better and it make me more sleepy. Got out of the tub and ordered room service, can you guess what it was? If you guessed cold cereal with toast you were right. It was pretty good the only downside was that they only had corn flakes and coco puffs. So I got the corn flakes, it was pretty good, just what I needed to make me feel at home.
This morning I got up and settled in and took a hot shower and noticed that I left my deodorant and shave gel in Newport. I was lucky and found them at a drug store near by. It is kind of weird to think about how 500 php is equal to about $10 us.
Today the big adventure was shopping at Greenhills mall. I have a few pics for you. While waiting for the mall to open I went in and experienced a local church that was held in a restruant. There was singing and people waving there hands in the air. Sound familiar? From what I have seen manila is poor but it is alot like LA, tall buildings and a starbucks on every corner if not two. After shopping we came back and went to California Pizza Kitchen which from what I understand it one of the up scale places to eat. The wait staff it very attentive to our needs, I want to say it is because they know that we US dollars to spend.
The hotel is 5 star but I remember seeing better while in Kauai, remember those Nat. But the hotel meets my needs and the bed is pretty good but mine is better. I think even Gina would think so.
After lunch at CPK came back and thought I would go for a swim but the sun had moved and the pool wasn't as warm as I wanted it so no swim, maybe tomorrow. So after the pool it was time for a nap and try to begin getting ready for the night shift. I slept until about 9pm and then the guys and I went to dinner and got to here some local live music. You would have never guessed we were in manila. After dinner we went and sat by the pool and tried to not get eaten by the bugs and the local bat. Pretty much is has been a pretty mellow day. Feel free to email me at tanni.tronsen@gmail.com if you have any questions I will try to blog my adventures a few times a week. I hope you enjoy the pics.
5 comments:
The pool looks pretty, I want to see more picture of you, Tanni!!! Miss you lots,
Angie.
Sweet Tanni . . . love the people pictures . . . keep your head down . . . and happy SUNDAY!
Yes, more pics of you and def. more pics of the people and the city!!! CRAZY work hours!
Tanna Tanna Tanna!!! Glad you got there safe and are doing some exploring (even if it is just the local mall so far) Can't wait to see more pictures...stay out of trouble and have fun. Mom is here and she says "hi!" she liked the part of your blog about the blanket she made you.
Love Ya! Rauna and all of my crazy chickens
Tanni: Your Dad Loves You & Misses you Greatly...
I appreciated the quality & subject of your pix & blog!
Post a Comment